Courses at the Museum

Talking of Art

Art & Illusion – how artists through the ages have deceived the eye
Monday 24 April

The Making of Medieval Manuscripts
Monday 8 May

Art About Art – how artists have been inspired by earlier artists
Monday 15 May

Bawdy Borders – unexpectedly risqué images in the borders of medieval manuscripts
Monday 22 May

Four talks on different aspects of art history with Dr Mo Ille.
The talks run from 1.30pm – 3.30pm.

Fee: £20 for all four talks or £6 per individual session.

To book, and for more information, email DrMo@ille.co.uk or telephone 01724 733067

Felt Making Crafts – Flowers, £25

Crafted by Snorky is hosting an introductory felt session Felting is therapeutic, relaxing and fun – you don’t need any experience or art skills – just enthusiasm!
You’ll be led step by step to create a wet felted fabulous flower. The price includes tuition, materials, equipment, and refreshments. Extra materials are available to buy for experimenting at home.
The museum has good car parking and the Old School Canteen café is open for food and drinks to purchase.
Bookings contact: tracy@snorkymedia.com and by phone 07976 848359. £5 holds your place.

Buddhist Meditation Drop in Sessions

These classes are run by the Khedrubje Kadampa Buddhist Centre (Hull) and are ideal whether you are a complete beginner or have practiced meditation before.

We meditate sitting on chairs to ensure everyone is comfortable. There is no physical exercise involved and you don’t need to wear special clothing or bring anything with you. Each class includes a guided meditation, a short talk and an opportunity to ask questions with refreshments.

The classes cost £5 per session and you don’t need to book in advance, just turn up!  The classes start at 7pm.

The classes take place in the Aelberry Building at the rear of the school museum.  There is plenty of car parking.

For info on this class call: 01482 324 940

Forthcoming dates:

  • Wed 18th January
  • Wed 25th January
  • Wed 1st February
  • Wed 8th February
  • Wed 15th February
  • Wed 22nd February
  • Wed 1st March
  • Wed 8th March
  • Wed 15th March
  • Wed 22nd March
  • Wed 29th March
  • Wed 5th April
Midsummers Night by Gill Kendall

Wilderspin Art Group

Join this exciting Art Group led by Artist Jon Dent at the Joseph Wright Hall in Queen Street, Barton. All comers are welcome from beginners to experts

Have great fun and make real progress with your Art work, whatever your preferred medium; Oils, Acrylics or Watercolour
Great value at £10 for half a day or £15 for the whole day!

Enquiries please call Jon on 07525034201 / 01652 618082 or email jondent1@icloud.com